Beginnings

The old year is officially over, and the new has already started. We caught the ball drop last night after wrestling with the remote, and it was a close one. And by close one, I hope you understand that we only got it on Dick Clark’s Rockin’ New Year’s Eve when they were on the last ten seconds of 2015. It couldn’t have been more perfect.

I did finish my mittens before the new year, so an FO for you today seems fitting.

Pattern: Yarn Harlot’s Thrummed Mittens
Fiber Used: Shepherd’s Wool worsted weight in Pewter from Stone Hedge Fiber Mill (133 yards) and a little under an ounce of assorted wool roving I had.

I’m really really happy with how they turned out and they’re super warm to boot. I feel like I’m going to be making more pairs of these for everyone around me who realized that these are probably the best winter accessory they could ask for. The looks have already started. Maybe I’ll make a pit stop when I go home and acquire some more roving for the purpose.

I have finally got around to casting on the aran pillow case. I’m pretty happy with it, even if the cabling is pulling even more than it did in the swatch.

wp-1451685404519.jpg

I figure that it’ll stretch out when I put it on the pillow form. The cabling isn’t too hard, but now I really do wish I was working this up in wool. The acrylic just doesn’t have the same kind of life, and I can’t even block it to make the stitches a bit more even. I think it looks ok, though, regardless.

I’ve also done some more work on MFS 2.0. It’s been needing some attention and I couldn’t resist it’s soft alpaca charms. No picture of that one again until I have some more substantial progress to report. It’s an absolute joy to work with though, so I’m hoping once my other knitting is down I’ll have some time to really enjoy working it up. It’s great mindless knitting, so movies are a favorite past time for me with this project.

Leave a Reply

