The natural order

The most basic and traditional sock knitting dictates that you

A)Knit your sock on DPN’s and B) only knit one sock at a time.

I attempted to mess with the natural order of things on the second account. I thought that I was much smarter than the wool, that I could bend it to my will. Wool be damned, I was going to start a revolution.

Well, it sure showed me.

After a grueling five rounds of socks (where I managed to get a rather spectacular cramp in my oft unused left hand), I went to pull the socks apart to show someone how they were two separate socks and lo, I had managed to splice the two together on an entire needle about three rows down. After a desperate and failed attempt to ladder down these stitches (which was too painful and frustrating to photograph), I got rather angry with the socks. After the customary slew of cursing directed at said double knit socks, I pulled the needles out and ripped the whole damn thing back. Such was my anger that I threw the whole pile of yarn in the corner for the night. That would show it.

So the next day, after my anger had been quelled slightly I resigned myself to my fate. I still needed two pairs of socks for Christmas, and two pairs I would have, double knitting or not. I comforted myself with the thought that I can knit a single sock rather quickly when I want, so this would probably be faster than learning a difficult and new technique anyways. I cast back on my stitches, and after a good inch or so of solid work I realized that this would make a very good sock if my recipients were small children, not grown men. I was operating under some sort of delusion that I wasn’t getting 8 stitches to the inch (even though I know that I am), and had cast on roughly 2/3’s of the stitches needed.

So I ripped back. Again. And cast on. Again. This time with the requisite amount of stitches. I hope. This is where I’m at. I don’t think I have the strength to rip it back if it needs it this time.

wpid-wp-1448320673689.jpg

It’s 78 stitches. Good enough. I’ll just be over in the corner muttering to myself “I love knitting. I love knitting. I love knitting.” if you need me.

Leave a Reply

