Amphibious

Because I had to…you guessed it, Frog It.

wpid-wp-1447896062482.jpg

In progress as I was getting ready to rip it, rip it.

I was happily knitting along, according to the chart of my own devising, because I was too stubborn to use the ones put together by those more experienced than I. I compared my results to this picture and realized that my cables, while nicely crossed were far too short. This also placed my eyelet groups too close together.

wpid-wp-1447903857387.jpg

This is a picture of the patient mid surgery. I’ll save you the suspense, the operation was successful. It took all my skill to (after I’d ripped out the first couple of rows) painstakingly rip and secure each individual fiddly little stitch back onto the needles. My little crochet hook was quite handy in the process. Looks like I’m not going to get my glittens afterall (at least until after the Christmas knitting is done), because the hat isn’t anywhere close to finished and my yarn comes in the mail tomorrow. Darn.

To be fair, however, I have been getting cozy with MFS 2.0. I’m finally making progress again (and not playing catchup)!

wpid-wp-1447895667776.jpg

8 inches of the 26 I need for the front/back. It’s slow going, but I’m still enthralled by the sweater and softness of the baby alpaca. It probably helps that the progress makes me superbly happy. I’m finally back to the point (and possibly with more length than before due to the change in row gauge) where MFS 2.0 was made possible. I’m almost done with the second skein as well. I imagine it’ll take about 5-6 skeins for the front and back each. I’m almost 1/3 of the way done with this half of the sweater, so that’s my best guesstimation. This will be a nice sweater….someday.

Leave a Reply

